Tuesday, January 29, 2008

Captain's Log: Day 30

Today we will venture into AnKei's geeky side! FUN! Why? you might ask... well i'm sitting here, virtually alone in the library, and it's kind of creeping me out. My typing noises breaks the creepy silence. Oh! no wait, there's some other creepy guy in here too... not sure if that makes it better though :P

Genetic Modification. What is it? in short, you're messing around with the genes in an organism's DNA to change certain characteristics of that organism... In North America, there are not many modified foods, in fact, there's only a handful, corn, cotton, canola, and soya beans. Most people don't want the genes in their food messed around with, believing that GM foods can cause devastating effects on their bodies and health. Sure there are certain risks about consuming GM foods, but so far, there hasn't been really any study to prove any kind of health disorders due to consumption of GM foods. In addition, everything we do, every choice we make has a certain risk factor associated with it, but we still make choices and live on with our risky lives no? However, there are many people out there who are demanding for labels to be put on GM foods, there are protests against the selling of GM foods because they are believed to be 'contaminated' or 'polluted' foods. Where's the proof? In fact there are people who wants GM foods to be banned. Ok, so we all have our opinions, fine. I respect that. You can prefer organic foods, fine. Suit yourself. But maybe there are people out there who prefer GM foods too, so shouldn't they also have a choice?

I'm not a PhD in genetics or anything, but from what I've learned in the past, and the present, I personally don't have any problems with GM foods. In fact, I think I'm pretty pro GM foods. People who are absolutely against GM foods may simply be uninformed, and it is a part of human nature to fear the unknown. But think about it for a minute. Firstly, as I have mentioned already, there have been no concrete proof to show that GM foods have any kind terrible health effects. There are some studies showing that animals long term consumption of GM potatoes (for example) have shown to have decreased immune system. But that particular study have already been disproved, since the experiment/study was itself flawed and not properly carried out. The risks associated with GM foods are not exactly big, however, the benefits that can come out of this technology can change the world, and in the long run can solve many bigger problems. I believe that introducing a small risk to solve bigger issues is not an issue at all (kind of like introducing Chlorine into water in order to purify the water, which eliminated serious diseases such as cholera and typhoid).

Let me give an example. Growing cotton is very environmentally unfriendly. Cotton growing uses a lot of water and a LOT of pesticides. China, one of the major cotton growing countries, has started using genetic modification to grow cotton, and this resulted in a significant decrease in pesticide use, this is beneficial not only to our environment but also to the health of the farmers growing cotton.

Another thing, if we could identify the genes which gives plants a resistance, or tolerance, of aluminum in acid soils (which accounts for over half of the world's arable land) then we'd be able to farm on much more land, and greatly increase food production world wide, providing food to many people in undeveloped countries, and allowing them to produce their own food on the not-so-fertile-lands that haven't been used for industrial purposes yet. Furthermore, genetic modification can be used for phytoremediation (removing pollutants from the soil). One can increase the ability of certain plants to 'clean up' the earth, and that as well will benefit many people all over the world, not only in food production, but also the health of our environment and ourselves. There are even researches being conducted now to improve the nutrients in crops, such as increasing vitamins etc... and this is can be done through genetic modification.

So do these benefits outweigh the risks? You can think about that yourself.

What is GM?

*I am very much enjoying my world of chem course ;)

Monday, January 28, 2008

Captain's Log: Day 29

This is the first time i'm blogging at school! I'm on break right now, kinda bored, just finished writing an incredibly long email to a friend and now... nothing else better to do. Ok i lied, there are better things for me to do, such as doing some spanish! but... first, i'm lazy, and second... well this keyboard is surprisingly very fun to type on! i mean... the keys kind of just... i don't know how to explain this, but on this keyboard, you don't have to press really hard to get a letter, you can type super fast, and it just FLOWS!! FLOWS says I! Very standard keyboard, but it just feels like all the letters are really close to your fingers, and you hardly have to stretch to get the key you want! which is pretty awesome! why am i even talking about this keyboard? because i'm bored, and i can't think of anything else to say.

¡Esta mañana el autobus no llegó! Esperó por treinta minutos y los dos autobuses que debía llegar no llegó. Estaba muy fría porque hacía muy frío hoy. Luego, regresó a mi casa para preguntar si mi padre podía me llevar al escuela. Saliamos a las ocho, y ¡llegamos a las ocho y media! Afortunadamento, la clase no estaba empezó.

Oh goodness, that took a long time to type! See, i think we can all agree that my spanish is improving exponentially! i didn't even use a dictionary to write that little tiny paragraph! oh, this is awesome, it makes me happy to know that i've improved from being able to say a whole bunch of unrelated words such as... mantequilla (butter), and mariposa (butterfly) (yes i know, they both have the word butter in english... but i mean, come on... they don't relate really), to a whole paragraph complaining about how the bus didn't come again! well ok, no it came... only it broke down like 4 feet before it reached my bus stop, and the 2 following buses just never came... haha! it was SO fun! waiting 30 minutes in the freeeeezing cold! it was like -15 this morning! gah!

ok. i think i've done enough complaining to last me a whole week. so i'm going to shush now, and plus, you're probably not at all interested in reading about how the buses irritate me either! alrighty then. I'll probably go nap on that bench over there *yawn...* tired! g'night guys!

Wednesday, January 23, 2008

Captain's Log: Day 28

There are 2 songs I'd like to share with you today, one, I learned when I was working at Foyer Dorval. EVERYONE knew that song there, it was very popular among the elderly, and they quite enjoyed it when we sat around and sang it together! :) It's called Let Me Call
You Sweetheart
it's a cute little song. Maybe one day when i'm old, I will come back here, find the lyrics and sing this song while rocking on my non-rocking chair in somewhere.
Anyway. This is how it goes (the complete lyrics... i usually only sing the chorus):

Let Me Call You Sweetheart

I am dreaming dear of you,
Day by day;
Dreaming when the skies are blue,
When they're gray;
When the silv'ry moonlight gleams,
Still I wander on in dreams,
In a land of love, it seems,
Just with you.

Chorus:
Let me call you "Sweetheart,"
I'm in love with you.
Let me hear you whisper
That you love me too.
Keep the love-light glowing
In your eyes so true.
Let me call you "Sweetheart,"
I'm in love with you. (repeat chorus)

Longing for you all the while,
More and more;
Longing for the sunny smile, I adore;
Birds are singing far and near,
Roses blooming ev'rywhere
You, alone, my heart can cheer;
You, just you.

Chorus




The second song is called Sha La La, um... i'm not sure why I decided to share this song, because well, it's not one of my favorites or anything, but, it was stuck in my head this morning haha! well I do like the song, it kind of makes me happy when i hear it. It sounds so cheery! I feel like I'm on a beach when i listen to the song... weird! Again, I only knew the chorus of this song too! haha! but wouldn't it be great if you could wake up everyday, and you're in the mood to Sha La La? (i mean, to sing....) I usually wake up and i'm all grumpy! yeah, i feel bad for people to have to put up with my morning grumpiness hehe.

Sha La La - Dreamhouse
(Walkers sang the original version...)


There's a boy on my mind and he knows I'm thinking of him
All my way through the day and the night
The stars shine above me
He's been gone for some time but I know I truly love him
And I'm singing a song hoping he'll be back when he hears it

Chorus:
My heart goes sha la la la la
Sha la la in the morning
Oh oh oh sha la la la la
Sha la la in the sunshine
Sha la la la la
Sha la la in the evening
Sha la la la la...sha la la la la just for you

If your love's gone away just like mine. You feel like crying
Sing alone maybe once , may be twice. Let's try it together
Some sweet day no one knows he'll return and you'll be happy.
Shout it sweet in a song. Listen to your heart it is singing

chorus


Saturday, January 19, 2008

Captain's Log: Day 27

This post is mainly pictures, with captions! yay! less reading! ;)


My bottle of wishing stars
ok... maybe not exactly wishing stars, but whatever, stars! ;) these stars were made out of recycled coloured paper, and the bottle was....hmm... i don't remember what bottle this was some bottle, whatever. It took me a day to make them all! of course, i wasn't making them non stop, had i been making stars non-stop for a day, i could probably fill... half a recycling bin or something!


4 Cutiful bears
They are actually... about 3/4 of an inch tall, i've had them for probably abour 18 years? i don't know, a long time! and... that black piece of cloth they're sitting on, it's actually my prom dress haha!


An old chair
This chair is very old, it was older than me! but...it's also broken, and we dumped it not long ago, i miss it a lot.


Paper flower
A paper origami flower made from an old hallmark paper bag... it's pretty huh? it's not really that pretty, it's just that my photography skills are way too good ;P


Tangoing stick figures
Who said stick figures aren't cool? they're tango-ing!


My first bouquet of flowers
These were the first flowers i've ever received, from my favorite brother, for my birthday! :) aren't they pretty? hehe! I think yellow roses signifies friendship....or jealousy haha!


Fighter Bears
These are what i call fighter bears, they fight evil and protect the poor. Kind of...


Horse-like sunset
On the way back from Vermont, we saw the sunset... it was setting behind the fluffy clouds when suddenly i shouted out, "Oh my goodness! it's a HORSE!!!" doesn't it look like a horse!?!?


Violets
This was a gift from the seniors residence 2 summers ago. This year, for some unknown reason, it bloomed twice! Twice in one year! Once in June, and again in October, I think it's a sign! hahaha!


Blankie
This is my blanket. I've had it since i was a baby, wait...before i was a baby! haha! so it's older than me! crazy...


Super car
This was the first car we had. And we had it for a very very long time. It's gone through thick and thin, sun and shine with us. It was a beautiful car, it was slick and sexy, it was bold and strong, it was stylish and reliable, it was the best car in the world. I miss it so much. I never noticed how much i missed it until now.

WELL, THAT'S ALL FOLKS! Haha, i never noticed how many pictures of random things i had! hahaha!

Wednesday, January 16, 2008

Captain's Log: Day 26

Say, I've been blogging for a while now haven't I? I've written a lot about.... well randomness that people probably don't care about, and i don't blame you either! I've also written a little about myself, but those little bits about myself never really said what were my likes or dislikes huh? To make life easier, today, I will list out my likes and dislikes (excluding those that I feel should not be shared to the general public).

As Maria (from "The Sound Of Music) would sing, "...These are a few of my favorite things" (though i'm not creative enough to write out my list in a song.....so yeah, just a list)

Likes:
  • chocolate (dark...or...not dark haha) mmm.... delicious
  • black
  • summer
  • singing :)
  • laughing :D
  • talking to people, things, and...myself
  • thundershowers with the occasional glimpse of lightning
  • power outages when i'm not studying for an exam, or in the middle of a really really good show
  • music
  • sketching
  • reading interesting things
  • ice cream, definitely
  • people
  • food, good food that is... when i'm in a good mood of course :P
  • vodka now they put precious stones in your vodka too! (World's Most Expensive Vodka)
  • a nice long sleeeep
  • dreams, cool ones, not ones that scare you awake
  • climbing
  • skiing
  • Heroes, Pushing Daisies, Grey's Anatomy, TVB
  • writing...in my blog! DUh!
  • post-its
  • big long hugs
  • piggy back rides!
  • the moon
  • hot sunny days, perfect for volleyball! ouch! my forearms!
  • baking coookies... then eating them!
  • photoshopping
  • lime and lemon
  • cakes that aren't very soggy and not very sweet
  • snowball fights
  • cool accessories... though i don't wear much, so i guess i don't REALLY like them haha, but if they're cool, well that's a different story
  • Pooh Bear


Dislikes:

  • needles AAH! pain!
  • homework :P
  • genetic questions (doing them right now)
  • dry skin....need more moisturization!
  • asparagus hmm...
  • light/misty rain so annoying!
  • slush (erk!)
  • morning classes (yaaaawn!)
  • buses that don't come on time...or don't come at all
  • pink, the colour
  • people *note, people also appears in the 'likes' list... but i'm assuming you know what i mean
  • rum and coke
  • reading boring textbooks
  • crowded malls... drives me insane!
  • being unable to say what i feel
  • being selfish
  • broken printers
  • being hurt
  • soggy cakes
  • chewy egg rolls
  • my inability to make decisions...or at least the right ones...
  • bags, including backpacks, handbags, purses, etc... as much as they look cool
  • Mickey Mouse


There's probably loads of other things i hadn't mentioned yet... i just can't think right now haha! maybe some other day i'll make a more complete list hehe!

*N.B. the lists are arranged in no particular order

Monday, January 14, 2008

Captain's Log: Day 25

Ahoyhoy!
Today, I will share with you my innermost secret. What is it? says you. Arrgh! Tis worth more than gold! says I. Well... here it is! my innermost secret is.... I AM a simple pirate, leading a simple life, on my simple ship, occasionally enjoying simply delicious Lindt Chocolates.

I do not want gold, I do not want fame, I'm a simple minded person, though you may think, "what a shame". It rhymes!

Ok honestly now, I am a simple minded person. Confusing questions, events, decisions will drive me to tears. I'm one of those people that will keep driving straight because turning left/right is much too complicated for my little mind. I can be mildly entertained by writing a blog about my incredibly simple mind, and being able to complete an easy Sudoku all by myself brings me great joy and excitement. (Turns out Sudoku is not only a puzzle game, but also a disease...eeewy!) I can be easily impressed, and if someone asks, "what are you thinking about right now?" if I answer, "nothing," it doesn't mean, "I'm thinking about something that greatly bothers me and i don't feel like sharing with you at this moment, maybe unless if you keep nagging me about it then i will have to tell you just to shut you up, or that i have proven that i've caught your attention". If i answer, "nothing" it actually most of the time means.... well nothing. There are times when my mind is completely blank. Actually this is pretty often, now that i think about it... hmmm... well anyway. I show lots of interest and enthusiasm to almost everything, I tend not to ponder too much about things that upsets me, in fact, i tend to forget them pretty easily, it doesn't take much to make me happy, I usually don't ask for comforting words when i'm upset, all I want is a comforting hug, and sometimes just that can bring my good spirits back! Is this a good thing? Not necessarily. Especially when it comes to people-people relationships. Sometimes, getting to know or understanding a person can be very difficult. People are confusing creatures. What they say may not necessarily reflect what they think, and what they think may not be exactly what they feel. And then of course, there are those words that go unsaid... which makes communication just that much more confusing. Only if everything could be put into words...

And of course there are questions that need answers to, such as, "what am I going to do with my life?" or "what am I going to apply for in university?" maybe, "should I go to sleep now? or should I study more?" and of course the most important question of the day, "should I have one more Lindt chocolate? Or is three enough?" All such questions confuses me like crazy. And as simple as I claim to be, I also have to deal with such questions, and many more. Each of these questions usually leads to a decision that has to be made. We make decisions and we deal with the consequences. And it is these consequences that makes it so hard to lead a simple life. Especially when consequences do not concern only myself, but other people as well. Why does life have to be so confusing? I just want to be a simple pirate sailing on my simple ship, enjoying simply delicious Lindt Chocolates.

Monday, January 7, 2008

Captain's Log: Day 24 - entry 2

Wow, that is so weird. I mean, very, weird. I wrote an entry in french! very poor french, but french nonetheless, and it's the most RANDOM post ever, about, well absolutely nothing! So, this is a note of warning, if you have more interesting things to do, then skip the previous post completely! because it's so incredibly pointless....i think i just wanted to see how bad my french was, honestly, haha!

Well anyway, i'm kind of happy today, why? i'm not entirely sure, i just am :D see?? i'm smiling! hahaha!

Can't wait for World of Chem class tomorrow! :) If i find any interesting facts, i'll post it up here! :) oh wait there was something pretty cool, we were talking about how you know, the humans are so 'important', it's like as if the Earth is the center of the universe, but really, when we compare ourselves with the Sun, we are itty bitty! And if we compare the Earth with Antares (i wonder how much i'd weigh on there...).... well... we are essentially invisible... next to non-existent...
The following page gives some nice pictures to help you visualize how big we really are.
How Big is Your Rez

Captain's Log: Day 24

Bon, c'est quoi une peluche ou bien un doudou (je pensais toujours que c'était toutou et non doudou... bein, j'ai appris quelque chose de nouveau aujourd'hui!)?

Ah et oui, comme tu peux voir, j'ai décidé d'écrire en français, pourquoi? Je ne sais pas. Et oui, je sais, mon français est vraiment terrible, alors, s'il vous plait, pardonnez mes erreurs grammaticales et orthographes! :)

Bon, comme je disais, qu'est-ce que c'est une peluche ou un doudou? C'est un jouet, évidemment. Mais, est-ce que c'est juste ça? Il y a des parents qui achètent des peluches pour leurs enfants pour Noël, pour leurs fêtes, ou pour n'importe quelle raison quand ils sont petits (plutôt pour les filles que les gars). Puis, il y en a quelques unes qui garde ces doudous même quand elles sont des adultes. Pourquoi? Selon moi, je ne pense pas que c'est parce nous sommes... 'enfantin' (??) mais plus parce que ça represente un parti de notre vie, quand tout était innocent, facile, et sans souci. C'était le temps quand quelque chose de petit, comme un petit bonbon peut nous faire sourire. Quand nous sommes plus agées, plus la vie est compliquée, et desfois, nous cherchons de la securité ou quelque chose qu'on peut embracer (si on n'a pas quelqu'un... :P).

Je connais aussi des filles qui aiment parler avec leurs doudous, elle leurs dient tout, même leurs secrets, c'est un peu bizarre, oui, je sais, mais il y a des gens qui font ça (pas moi!! non... je parle avec des vrai personnes). Peut être parce qu'elles pensent qu'elles peuvent croire cette petit animal bourré de 'fluff'. Pourquoi? Parce que les doudous ne peuvent pas parler! Fait que, pour certaines personnes, une peluche n'est pas juste un jouet, mais un ami.

Alors, pourquoi est-ce que moi j'aime les doudous? Parce qu'ils sont bein trop cute! Ils sont 'so fluffy!' Non, je ne parle pas avec eux, je ne leurs dis pas mes secrets, et c'est très rare que je cherche de la securité chez eux, parce qu'ils sont trop petits! C'est ma job de les proteger! Mais oui, j'ai quelques doudous que j'ai gardé de mon enfance, et, ils m'apportent de bonnes mémoires. Par contre, je n'aime pas TOUS les peluches, je suis un peut 'picky' avec mes peluches, j'aime seulement ceux que je pense que c'est cute, et ça fait un long temps que j'ai acheté une peluche.

Ci dessous est deux photos d'une de mes peluches. C'est un phoque que j'avais acheté au Biodome il y a quelques années.



Cet article est fini! Phew! J'avais tellement de difficulté d'écrire en français!! Merci d'avoir lu cet article très ennuyeux pleine de fautes hahaha!