Monday, December 24, 2007

Captain's Log: Day 23

Ok, so I've decided I'm going to start my new project! (No, there were no other projects to begin with... sshhsshh!)
I'm going to try and show ma ville through mes yeux... well camera lens, to be more accurate... so these are the places in this pertiful city that I see all the time, and some, not so all the time! And i apologize, i know i'm not that good of a photographer :P and yes, i do look like some kind of tourist.... oh well!



1. Lionel Groulx metro station
2. Le métro
3. Boul. Maisonneuve
4. Rue St Denis
5. A tree and a lamp on Rue St Denis
6. Some passage
7. The snow we must plow through to get home every day
8. The trees that shelters us
9. The lamp
10. Outside of La Grande Bibliothèque du Québec

Wednesday, December 19, 2007

Captain's Log: Day 22

Santa Claus
1 North Pole
H0H 0H0

Dear Santa,
I've been a good girl this year, like every other year! I brush my teeth twice a day, I eat lots of veggies each meal, I helped shovel snow, and I've been studying hard at school! (Ok... maybe not as hard as i should have, but still hard!) I hope that you are doing well in the North Pole!
This year, I only have a short little Christmas list:

- a good book to read (you can choose for me)
- a watch
- a horse (preferably black)
- a snow flake that won't melt in my hands
- glow in the dark stickers
- a flower that won't wither
- a snow man that'll turn alive
- a bottle of wishing stars
- and a guardian angel :P (do you still make those?)

I can't think of much else I could ask for... But for now, it's this :) if I ever think of anything else I'll send you another letter! Don't worry, I won't be staying up on Christmas eve to spy on you, and I won't leave you any milk or cookies, because that's so cliché! I'm going to leave you... an Irish float with a Fruit salad (it's healthier! well maybe not the float... but the salad yes!). I hope you like pineapples!

Hope you have a safe trip around the world!

-Angela

p.s. I don't have a chimney in my house, so I'm going to leave you the key to my house under the doormat : )

Thursday, December 13, 2007

Captain's Log: Day 21

So... i'm procrastinating once again.... hahahaha! well just for like 2 minutes...because i'm going to eat in 2 minutes, and i don't feel like starting a new review topic...
lately, i've started playing the piano again, not entirely sure why... but i'm surprised i still remember a little bit! haha! considering how long it's been since i've last played! it's pretty good! hahahaha! i probably started playing again because i didn't feel like studying, and i'm just finding something else i could do instead. Just, something, ANYTHING but studying! :P Well anyway, after...over a year of not practicing, this is what i can still play: (i know, it's terrible...how sad...)







Yes i realized that there's some random picture of... well colourful light... but i was only allowed to upload video clips and not music clips... stupid photobucket... oh well! I'm still trying to learn that new song, Canon in D... but it's too hard!!! but it's such a nice song!

Wednesday, December 12, 2007

Captain's Log: Day 20

So i got whipped by my BIOL exam today.... i don't like RR...and I hate PABP I/II stupid PABP... but anyway. Now that i finished the BIOL exam, i have... 4 days to study for the 2 physios, and i absolutely refuse to study for anything tonight, because... i'm tired! ok?

anyway, so i decided to go... cruise, on wiki... ahem... and turns out that "Montreal has recently been listed as a UN sanctioned 'world capital of design'. The city is an absolute visual marvel, with the downtown divided into component pieces, each with a specific theme, style (or juxtaposition of styles) overall colour and material schemes etc." Even our Metro stations are filled with artwork!

Amazing! i'm living in a city of design! And i'm a designer wannabe :P Perfect huh!?
Yes... i'm looking up my own city on wikipedia... you got a problem? i should probably just wander the streets more often instead haha!

Montreal is quite the beautiful city though...

Monday, December 10, 2007

Captain's Log: Day 19

You have an anatomy exam tomorrow. You started studying yesterday. This exam is worth 100% of your final grade. You have 41 pages of essays to memorize. You have 120 slides to fit into your brain. You have a whole bunch of information you need to keep track of. Little details, like the Ampulla of Vader pierces the second stage of the duodenum at its posteromedial surface, and the prostate gland is located directly superiorly to the superior fascia of the UGD, cannot be ignored. You have less than 24 hours to remember every minute detail. But instead of studying, what do you do?
Well... how would I know what you'd do!? but here's what I did... I made paper snowflakes, I drew pictures, and I took pictures of myself while I was 'studying very hard', and played with it on photoshop.

Now... i have 1 day to study for a biology exam on wednesday.... and i hadn't started yet. what am I doing instead of studying? Clearly, i'm blogging. Oh...how wonderful. However, tomorrow I will have some solid studying time... wish me luck! ;)

Thursday, December 6, 2007

Captain's Log: Day 18

I really should be cramming for phys chem, considering my exam is tomorrow.... but i'm in the mood for poetry... so i'm just going to post this up, then get on with studying! :) sounds like a plan? yeah, i thought so too!

The Cranky Old Lady - 06/12/2007

There was a cranky old lady who lived nextdoor
who's dearest husband died in war.

She lived a lonely life since then,
never looked at other men.

"She's a witch!" the children say,
for she never smiles, or say "good day!"

At times at night I hear her weeping,
her dreams haunt her while she's sleeping?

I went to visit her one time,
people thought I was out of my mind.

She was baking delicious cookies,
I could tell, she was no rookie.

Though she looked angry and cranky,
she was truly very friendly.

She even taught me how to bake,
her tasty cookies, and even cake!

She offered me some to take home
since she can't eat them all alone.

She walked with me down the hall.
That day I discovered, she's not cranky, not at all.

She's a simple old lady living alone,
in a comfy little shelter we call home.

While baking cookies, I got news one day
the news that the old lady had past away.

Soon all will forget this little lady,
but I'll always remember the recipe she gave me.

The lonely lady who lived nextdoor,
will rest in peace, and be lonely no more.


ok... so that was kind of sad :( I'll try to write a happier one next time! ;)

Tuesday, December 4, 2007

Captain's Log: Day 17

Look! i found the "second part"! hahaha! They're so cute aren't they?? some of them are actually kind of sad though....

why on earth am i rambling here?! i should be doing phys chem practice finals! ah!! ok i'll shush now... (http://www.azuzephre.net/site/main/)

Monday, December 3, 2007

Captain's Log: Day 16

First Ten Things...
to do when you experience a power outage:
1- scream out in rage! (well... or happiness depending on what you were currently doing)
2- scramble for a manually chargeable flashlight, but you can't find it, so you go look for your battery devouring flashlight to find your manually chargeable flashlight, and sing in joy when you find it, but discover that it has not yet been charged
3- charge your flashlight
4- call Hydro-Quebec and find out what on earth is happening, and perhaps hoping you can yell at them
5- find candles hidden somewhere in your cupboards, and light them up
6- ask to see if dinner has already been prepared....or will you have to be chewing on dry bread
7- have a romantic and freezing candlelight dinner...don't forget to comment on how freaking romantic it is!
8- lie on the floor and refuse to do anything because you have no electricity
9- keep calling Hydro-Quebec, because you figure that if you call them enough, they'll get annoyed and fix the problem faster, eventhough it's really just an answering machine that you're communicating with
10- sleep

Top Ten...
Things to do when you experience a power outage during exam period (or well... whenever, it doesn't really matter):
1- keep studying by shining a small light onto your page full of itty bitty tiny little letters until your eyes drop out
2- dance around the fire (well.. the candle)
3- turn on your mp3 player and sing very loudly along with all the songs, even if you don't know the words, you can always just make up your own
4- play board games...for example, scrabble
5- attempt to warm up your food by roasting it over the candle...only if we had marshmallows! yum!!
6- make paper snowflakes...and comment on how very festive you're being
7- act out your favorite movie
8- learn how to slow dance....because it's so romantic....??
9- tell stories while shining the flashlight on your face
10- nap