Wednesday, February 20, 2008

Captain's Log: Day 34

Yeah, i know i hadn't finished my story yet... obviously, because it's not going to be a short story, but this true story is too good not to blog... because i'd probably end up forgetting it...Have you ever freaked someone out so much in a public place that the person would just get up and leave? Well... I just experienced that today. Of course, I wasn't alone, that would be even weirder!

So I was with a friend, going to the library to study. And we went to see where the elevators were at, if it was not at the ground floor, then we'd take the stairs, but because the doors opened just as we approached it, we decided that we will take the elevator after all. There were 2 other people in the elevator with us, a girl, who i didn't pay much attention to, and an asian guy. So we were just talking, my friend and I, and we were being stupid.. as usual. Then the door opened, and the girl left (we were at the 4th floor, and we were heading to the 5th floor). The guy took a step forward, he obviously wasn't getting off the elevator, because if he had that intention, he would have gotten out long ago. Anyway, he reached out his hand to press the ¦><¦ (close) button, he hesitated a little. My friend and I were still talking obnoxiously. Then all of a sudden, he decided to exit the elevator. I looked over to my friend, and laughed. Then I heard a not so distant door shut. I recognized it as the door to the staircase. I turned to my friend and I said, "Oh jeez! He went to take the stairs! HAHAHA! Look what we did! We weirded him out so bad that he rather take the stairs!"
My friend obviously didn't believe me. Finally, we reached the 5th floor, and the doors slid open. I quickly exit, because i wanted to see if the guy got to the 5th floor yet by stairs, and just as I exited, he opened he door!
"See!" I almost yelled out to my friend... she didn't really get what or who i was talking about, so I pointed the guy out to him, but just as I was about to point him out, my arm was half lifted, with a finger sticking out, he turned around and looked at me. A little embarrassed, I decided to do a quick and slick cover up.
I moved my pointing finger towards the right and pointed at the water fountain. "Do you want some water?" I asked my friend who was beside me, who could only burst out in laughter. We quickly walked passed him and started another adventure of conquering a computer. And I, of course, had much joy telling anyone who will listen this story... though if i were to tell you in person, I'm sure you would have enjoyed it much more, as I am more animated in person ;) But no, that was a good story i find.
My friend thought it was pretty funny too.... how he would rather take the stairs, and he obviously didn't plan on taking the stairs, because if he did, he would have done so on ground floor. He wouldn't have to wait till 4th floor. Which was completely ridiculous. It was only 1 more floor. Sheesh! But who knows, he might have a good explanation... and I'm sure he's having fun telling his friends about two crazy girls in the elevator as well.

Wednesday, February 13, 2008

Captain's Log: Day 32

*Title to come

Prologue:
Montreal, a beautiful city, filled with all sorts of people. People. You and I, and everyone, pass by hundreds of people every day. How many of us will stop and think; who are these people? What are they doing out here? Why the long face? Why the bright smile? Why does that guy look like he's got the sun shining out of his butt? Even if there are a few people who do, they may ponder about the question for a couple of seconds, or minutes, and carry on with their more 'important business'. What can be this important business? Hmm... What to eat for breakfast? Where did I leave my homework? Should I cross the road like a dangerous Montreal pedestrian? Is my hair being blown the wrong way? (As a matter of fact, I'm having a bad hair moment as I speak, and there isn't even any wind blowing.) It seems that we are mostly concerned about things that has to do with us, people who are closely linked to us. Other people, they are just passersby. They will only appear in our lives for a mere couple of seconds, minutes, or maybe hours, but soon, we probably will never see them again, so why worry about them? They may be nobody to you, or me, but to other people they can mean the world. Each of these people we bump into as we make our way to work, to class, to home, or to where ever we're going has a story of their own, just like you and I. Have you ever thought that you have just entered into the story of that stranger you passed by? Even if it's for three seconds? Aren't you ever curious about the story of the person strolling by your house every day, each day at the same hour? Have you ever thought that in one apartment building, there are simultaneously, dozens of stories unraveling? At each moment, millions of events are happening to millions of people. Maybe you just passed by someone who were, at that specific moment, experiencing a turning point in their life. Aren't you interested in what exciting business people are getting involved, perhaps right beside you, as you are deciding between café latté and frappuccino?

Monday, February 4, 2008

Captain's Log: Day 31

Recently I thought back about things i've done as a kid.... then i remember... back in grade 2 i performed with about a dozen other girls a dance on... i don't know what it was, parent's night or something like that, but anyway, i used to practice it every day when i got home from school! I was so excited! but when the night came... we got into a positions, and well... i was pretty much standing behind the curtains the whole time :(

x x x x x x
x x x x x x o

the little 'o' was where i was standing, the 'x's are the other girls. so yeah, and the only part i was center stage was when we had to run around the stage! haha! well i guess it's not their fault i was tall haha! but i still had fun. I kind of still remember some of the dance steps in fact! The song we danced to was Summer Nights. Yesterday, i went on youtube and looked up the song, and i found it! Never saw the movie though....
anyway, those were the good old days! hehe! now i have to go study some genetics... erk...